My Transformation Blog – Day 43 – Legs

I didn’t have to be in work today until the afternoon so I decided to train in the morning. Today was leg day and after my poor effort last week I was a bit nervous going in to it as I did not want to have another poor session. I met one of my mates at the gym so we both trained legs together which was a real help as it meant I had a reason to push harder.

I wasn’t able to follow the session exactly as the plan said as the gym I was using did not have the right equipment so I just did the best that I could. The session went like this:

  • Leg extension – 3 sets 10 -12 reps
  • Hamstring Curl – 3 sets 10 – 12 reps
  • Barbell box squats – 4 sets 20 reps final set was a triple drop set
  • Leg extensions – 3 sets 15 – 20 reps final set was a triple drop set
  • Hamstring Curl – 3 sets 15 – 20 reps final set was a triple drop set
  • Walking lunges – 1 set to failure

The squats were a real test as they showed how unconditioned I am at the moment. After each set I was gasping for air and going slightly light headed. I wasn’t breathing properly as I was doing the squats so I didn’t have enough oxygen in my system to recover. I managed to use a better weight than last week which I felt good about and having my mate there to push me on helped to get through the tough reps. The fourth set was really tough as the drop set didn’t give me much time to recover and I literally went to the point of failure and had to drop the bar on to the safety bars.

I then went back to the leg extensions and they really burned the quads. The final drop set was torture and I had to get up and walk around the gym to stop them from cramping up. I went on to the hamstring curl straight after and my quads were just on fire that I had to get off the machine and do some foam rolling to try and help my quads. I pushed my hamstring to failure but they never feel as bad as my quads do.

I finished with a set of weighted walking lunges around the gym just to completely finish the legs off……which they did! I had to lie on the floor for a while to try and feel a bit better as I thought I was going to throw up!…..I didn’t!

I’m happy I managed to push some better weight and have a much better session than I did last week. I forgot to weigh myself this morning but I will do it tomorrow and see where I am at. At the end of this week I will start a 4 week shred programme ready for my holiday at the end of April.

Leave a comment