Spin Class 23/03/2016

I didn’t do my class last week as I was off work with the flu so I knew whatever I did for today’s classes I would struggle a bit with my fitness. I decided to come up with 3 10 minute challenges to give the class. So after a good warm up the challenges went like this:

  • Challenge 1:
    • As many rounds as possible in 10 minutes of 500m Seated sprint, 200m Seated Climb, 500m standing sprint and 200m standing climb. For this challenge they have to watch their own distances and change whenever they reach the required distance for each discipline. I set the class the target of trying to complete 3 full rounds within the 10 mins.
  • Challenge 2:
    • Every minute on the minute – Seated hill climb and every minute on the minute come up out of the saddle and sprint as hard as you can on the same gear for 10 seconds. Return to a seated position and continue until the 10 minutes are up. Try not to change the gear down at all unless you physically cannot turn the pedals.
  • Challenge 3:
    • Sprint for distance – Seated sprint 40 secs, rest 20 secs, standing sprint 40 secs rest 20 secs and repeat for 5 sets. This is just about sprinting as fast as possible for each sprint with limited rest. I told the class to set themselves a target distance to try and achieve within the 10 minutes just so they had something to aim for.

Overall the challenges worked well and everyone seemed to enjoy them. It brings out the competitive nature in a lot of people and so they tend to push a bit more.

Let me know how you get on and if you have any 10 minute spin challenges of your own!

Leave a Reply

