My Transformation Blog – Days 35 &36 – Shoulders & Abs

I am posting for yesterday and today in one post as I didn’t do much yesterday so didn’t have much to write about. I was working all day so didn’t have chance to train, I just did some cardio throughout the day and that was it pretty much!

Today I finally managed to get back into the gym and throw some weights about and I was really happy about it! The session was shoulders and abs and went like this:

  • Side raises – 50 reps, 40 reps, 30 reps, 20 reps, 10 reps
  • Side raises – 5 drop sets of 10 reps
  • Barbell shoulder press – 3 sets of 10 reps super set with…
  • Dumbell shoulder press – 3 sets of 10 reps
  • Banded face pulls – 3 sets of 10 reps
  • Dumbell rear flyes – 3 sets of 10 reps superset with
  • Weighted sit ups – 3 sets to failure

The 12 week hardcore transformation programme that I am following is now in week 8 and is starting to incorporate DTP training. For those that don’t know DTP (Dramatic Transformation Principle) is a training protocol created by Kris Gethin and follows a pyramid style of training. It is really tough if you get the weights and rest periods correct but it is also a really good way of getting through a session quickly. The whole of the session above only took me about 40 minutes to do.

The high reps were tough but I managed to get through with some decent weight and pushed myself as hard as I could. The burn you get from high reps is really bad but at the same time gives you such as good feeling! Shoulders hurt more than anything else I think but they will take quite a battering before they hurt. I finished the session with 20 mins on the spin bike just to get some cardio in. I weighed myself again this morning and I was 12 stone 10 lbs so I have lost quite a bit of weight in the time I have been ill so I will just do cardio once a day at the moment just so I don’t lose too much weight.

I’m really glad I am pretty much back to normal and can hit the gym again. It really helps to focus my mind and get away from everything else going on. Leg day tomorrow which will be interesting!!

Leave a Reply

