My Transformation Blog – Day 23 – Chest & Triceps

I was up at 4.30am again this morning and got to work for about 5.15 in order to get my 20 minute power walk in before I started work. It wasn’t quite as cold this morning which was good but I still wrapped up in a few layers just to make sure.

I am still quite curious about my weight gain last week and so have tried to put into place a few things to try and help me lose the body fat. I will try to cut out a few carbs here and there that I don’t necessarily need such as where I would usually have some toast in the car on the way to work I will replace that with some ham and egg muffins that I have made. They are very simple to make and a great snack to have in the car. Hopefully these slight tweaks will make the difference when I weigh in next week.

Today was a chest and triceps workout which was this:

  • Dumbell Bench Press – 3 sets of 8 – 10 reps with one dropset
  • Decline barbell bench press – 3 sets of 10 – 12 reps with one triple dropset
  • Incline dumbbell Flyes – 3 double dropsets of 10 – 12 reps
  • Single arm cable crossovers – 2 sets 10-12 reps
  • Triceps push downs – 4 dropsets of 10 -12 reps
  • Resistance band push downs – 3 sets to failure

I worked out in my garage again as I just wanted the peace and quiet and not have to worry about anyone else getting in the way. I like to get through the workout quickly to increase the intensity as well as just get it done!

I had quite a good pump through my chest today which was good, I think I am starting to learn better ways to perform certain exercises and squeeze each muscle that I am trying to work. The better the contraction the better the workout, the better the results!!

Triceps are always quite easy to take to failure for me as I can squeeze them quite well. The programme I am following (Kris Gethins 12 Week Hardcore Trainer) actually called for overhead tricep press but I do not like that exercise as I find it puts a lot of stress through my elbows rather than my triceps. I just swapped it out for cable pushdowns as I know that is an exercise I can perform well with. It is always important to do the exercises that get the most out of each muscle group. There would be no point in me doing the overhead press and hurting my elbows etc and not working my triceps just because that’s what the programme told me to do. It’s good to be flexible and try different movements so that if you find ones you don’t get on with you can always revert to another.

I have a rest day tomorrow as its Wednesday so I have my body conditioning class to take in the morning and then my double spin in the evening which I need to plan for!!

Leave a Reply

