My Transformation Blog – Day 22 – Shoulders & Abs

I had to start work at 6am this morning so in order to get my cardio in for the morning I got up at 4.30am! This gave me enough time to get ready, get to work then go for a 20 min power walk and then start work. It was pretty cold this morning (about -1C) but it was dry which I was happy about. You can always get warm once you are moving but getting wet is not good. There is a river right next to where I work so I just walk for 10 minutes down the path that runs along side it and then turn around and walk 10 minutes back and that’s my cardio done. It’s so much better outside as time passes quicker and as it was still dark I had the beautiful sight of the moon and stars out.

I weighed myself this morning as soon as I had got up and had a wee. I had a bit of a shock as I weighed in at 13stone 4lbs!! so that is a gain of 2 1/4 pounds since last week! I really didn’t expect to gain this week as I haven’t eaten loads and my food has been clean. I did jump on the scales twice just to make sure it wasn’t an off reading….but it wasn’t.

After my power walk I used the staff changing room at work to take a picture of my physique to see if I could see any differences from a couple of weeks ago. I have included the pictures below. The left picture was taken on the 17th of February where I weighed 12stone 12lbs and the picture on the right was from this morning at 13 stone 4lbs. From what I can see there isn’t much difference, I think I still look just as lean which is good as it means I am putting on muscle rather than fat. I will do another body fat test again this week and see what those results say.


I trained at home today as I knew the gym at work would be busy with kids at the time I wanted to train. It was a pretty short session but was tough! It was:

  • Standing lateral raise – 3 triple dropsets of 10-12 reps
    • superset with…
  • Standing front plate raises – 3 sets of 10 -12 reps
  • Seated barbell military press – 3 triple dropsets of 10-12 reps
    • superset with…
  • Bent over rear flyes – 3 dropsets of 10 – 12 reps
  • Barbell Shrugs – 3 sets of 18 – 20 reps
    • superset with…
  • Weighted sit ups – 3 sets to failure
  • Dumbell shoulder circuit – 2 rounds of 10 reps front raise, 10 reps side raise, 10 reps overhead press, 10 reps rear flyes and 10 reps upright row

I had a pretty good feeling in my shoulders throughout and I managed to use some reasonable weight. I added the last exercise in myself as I always find it a great way to just burn the shoulders out completely and finish off the session being unable to lift your arms!!

For my cardio I just put my backpack on and took a power walk to the local supermarket to get a few bits and pieces and then power walk back just to get some fresh air and get a few chores done at the same time…..who says guys cannot multi task!

I am on early again tomorrow so I will probably do the same again and get up early in order to get my cardio done. Its quite refreshing being out in the cold air first thing in the morning. I am enjoying writing this blog everyday as it is keeping me accountable to the training. I hope those of you who see this and read it find it in some way either useful or insightful?

Leave a Reply

