My Transformation Blog – Day 19 – Back & Biceps

I didn’t get up in time to do my cardio this morning which was a bit annoying. I was hoping to get to work early and do a quick power walk or something but I think I just snoozed a bit too long so didn’t have time.

Todays session was back and biceps which went like this:

  • Pull Ups – 4 sets to failure
  • Bent Over Barbell Rows – 4 sets of 12 reps
  • Wide Grip Pull Downs – 3 sets of 8 – 10 reps with one dropset
  • Seated Cable Row – 3 dropsets of 15 – 18 reps
  • Back Extensions – 3 sets 10 reps with one drop set
  • Seated dumbbell curls – 3 sets of 20 reps with one drop set
  • Cable bicep curls – 4 sets of 12 -15 reps with one dropset

It was a tough workout but I enjoyed it as I like the challenge of the back workout much like legs as you can hit from all different angles and different exercises. I managed to go quite heavy with most exercises but I struggled to get a real burn through the muscles. I hit failure but it was a different kind of feeling than what I get with something like legs. I still have a lot to learn with contracting my back properly but I will get there.

Biceps were tough! I only did a couple of exercises but that was more than enough. I set a bench to almost upright in order to help isolate the biceps as it stops me using my body to help get the weight up. I can tell I am starting to get leaner as my veins are starting to pop out in my arms quite a bit when I push quite hard. I started with a really light weight but because they were slightly fatigued from all the back work and I managed to squeeze them the entire time I struggled with the reps. When you take a small muscle like the biceps to failure they REALLY hurt! It feels like you are literally tearing the muscles from its attachments and the flesh is burning!…..and yet we still seek it!!

That was the final weights workout for this week and I am quite happy with what I have achieved. I am keen to find out what I weigh….im not going to weigh myself until Monday morning in order to give it a full week. If I weigh the same or have put weight on again then I will definitely start to make a few adjustments to my diet as well as potentially upping the cardio by an extra 5 minutes each time.

I am going to try playing football for my local side tomorrow. I haven’t played in months due to it flaring up the tendonitis in my knee but it has felt good recently and the game will not be as a fast pace as the side I usually play in so I am keen to give it a go. I enjoy playing football, its another way to get out and forget about other things and just have a laugh. Hopefully my knee enjoys it as well!!

Leave a Reply

