My Transformation Blog – Day 16 Chest & Triceps

Today’s session was Chest and triceps and I was up quite early as I wanted to have a good session after yesterdays average shoulder session. I had my usual breakfast of two pieces of wholemeal bread and four eggs washed down with my pre workout drink. I use a brand of supplements called Kaged Muscle which have been created by Kris Gethin the guy who’s programmes I have followed for several years. I will write a separate blog on the supplements that I use and why otherwise this blog will go on for too long.

I had a good energy this morning and it was made even better when one of my online clients text me to say that she has reached one of her weight goals. We have been working for the last 8 weeks and I gave her a target to hit she has done really well in that time and managed to do it. This online personal training that I am doing is all very new to me but I am really happy that I have managed to help her get to where she wants to be. This is the whole reason why I wanted to get into personal training in the first place, helping people to take control of their bodies and achieve things they didn’t think were possible. They inspire me to push myself further and stay accountable within my own training so everyone is a winner!

With this extra burst of energy from both my pre-workout and my clients good news I went in to my garage and got into my workout. It was as follows:

  • Flat Dumbell Chest Press – 3 sets of 6-8 reps with 1 dropset
  • Incline Dumbell Chest Press – 3 sets of 10 reps with 1 triple dropset
  • Flat Dumbell Flyes – 3 dropsets of 8 reps
  • Cable tricep pushdowns – 3 drop sets of 10-12 reps
  • Cable rope overhead tricep extension – 3 dropsets of 10-12 reps
  • Barbell close grip bench press – 3 sets of 12 reps with partials to failure

I only have dumbells up to 25kg which are just a bit too light for me to fail within 6 – 8 reps so I pushed on to about 10-12 reps and failed in that range. I could have slowed the reps right down and worked the negative portion more but the option I chose felt good so I stuck with it. The sets throughout the rest of the chest exercises felt really good and I was able to get a good contraction with each rep and completely take my chest to failure.

For the triceps portion I again utilised my elastic bands that I bought last week. After each set of pushdowns or presses I had the band wrapped around the top of the squat rack and just did a few extra reps using the band. It was a great way to just get every last bit of energy out of the muscles. To finish the session off I just did 20 mins on my spin bike.

I am working again this evening so I will have to get my second session of cardio in later. I did a bit of a circuit last night so I might do the same thing again tonight as it makes the time go that little bit quicker.

Leave a Reply

