My Transformation Blog – Day 15

I woke up this morning with an awful headache, where is came from I don’t know the only thing I can think of is that I slept in a bit of a funny position!? I stayed in bed a little longer than I planned to see if it would go at all but it didn’t. I got up and went downstairs to weigh myself and I was 13 stone 1 3/4 which is about 3lbs up from last week!?

This weigh in did shock me a bit as I have been hitting my cardio everyday as well as my workouts and I have also kept my meals clean. If anything I haven’t really been eating enough as at the moment I am averaging around 5 meals per day when I should really have about 6+. I am not too bothered by the weight gain though as I can see in the mirror that there are good changes such as my abs starting to show. I would like to put it down to increase muscle mass but that might be a bit too keen on my part!

I will keep things the same this week and then if there is no change or another increase next week then I may alter the amount of cardio I am doing or possibly remove a few carbs from one of my meals and swap it our for more veg and salad instead. I am keen to get into a good shape and this holiday is providing the right motivation!

Todays gym session was supposed to be shoulders and abs but due to my headache I left it quite late to train and so didn’t have chance to get my abs workout in so I just focussed on shoulders. The session was as follows:

  • Seated Military Barbell Press – 3 sets of 10-12 reps
  • Seated Behind Head Barbell Press – 2 sets of 10-12 with 1 dropset
  • Seated side lateral raises – 4 dropsets of 10-12 reps
  • Barbell Shrugs – 3 sets of 18-20 reps
  • Lying Dumbell rear flyes – 7 sets of 10-12 reps

I still had my headache but I thought the exercise would take my mind off of it and help to clear it a bit……it was not going to be an excuse and stop me from exercising!! I am still concious about my left shoulder being weaker than my right so I maintained my focus on it in order to make sure it was engaged at all times and working as it should. Each set was tough but I go the weights pretty much spot on as I was hitting failure within the required rep range. I would have liked to get a couple of extra reps out but as I was training on my own in my garage I didn’t have a spotter so safety first!!

The side raises were quite brutal as they were seated meaning you are unable to use your body as much to help get the weight up when you start to fail and with it being a dropset it made it twice as hard…..it felt good though!!

The final exercise was lying rear dumbell flyes and as this is a weak area for me that is why there is 7 working sets! I thought I would make it a little bit harder on myself and superset it with some band face pulls. I bought a set of bands earlier in the week and they are a great tool to use in the gym. The face pulls were just there to finish off the rear delts completely!

I have work this afternoon right through until 10.30pm so I will get my second lot of cardio done after than and if I can I will add some abs work in as well but we shall see.

 

Leave a Reply

