My Transformation – Day 12

Today was leg day…….Neil Hill your a sick S.O.B!!!!

I have learned to love leg days as they are a true test of your mental and physical capabilities in the gym. They are the biggest muscles so can take a hell of a beating….especially when you do one of Neil Hill’s workouts!! If you don’t know who he is, Neil is a former professional bodybuilder and is now a coach to some of the top bodybuilders around including 4 time Mr Olympia Flex Lewis so he knows what he is talking about! 

Today’s leg workout went like this: 

  • Leg Press – 3 sets of 85 reps! (20 reps feet at bottom of plate, move feet up 1 inch 20 reps, move feet up 1 inch 20 reps, feet at the top of the plate 25 reps) superset with Squats for 20 reps
  • Leg Extension – 3 sets of 12-15 reps with heavy partial reps at end of third set
  • Lunges – 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Hamstring Curl – 3 sets of 12-15 reps with drop set on third set

This was a really tough workout and the high reps on the leg press hurt like hell. For the last set I increased the weight as I wanted to push myself as much as I could, by the end of the first 20 reps I was already regretting the decision as my legs were burning and shaking! I pushed on though and even though I had to rest pause a few times I got the reps done. After the squats on the third set I just had to collapse to my knees as my legs were shaking so much….it felt good though!! 

I moved on to leg extensions where the pain continued. The third set involved a dropset taking my legs beyond failure, the worst part was to follow though with the partial reps. This involved increasing the weight again and then just do a movement of a couple of inches to absolutely get everything out of the muscles….it worked!! 

I tried doing hamstring curls straight after but lying face down on the bench was not possible as my quads were just cramping up and taking my mind off of working the hamstrings. I opted to do some walking lunges instead until my quads were somewhat recovered. I find the lunges much easier on my knees so enjoy doing them. After 3 sets I could go back to hamstring curls and pushed them as far as possible. My legs were then done and I felt pretty sick but that’s ok it just meant I worked hard! 

I did 20 minutes cardio on the X-trainer which helped to push the blood around my legs a bit and ease them off. 

Leg days are a love hate workout. I hate it because it hurts so much and it pushes your mental capacity to the max but then I love them as completing a tough leg workout always gives a huge feeling of satisfaction!! Never skip leg day!!! 

 

Leave a Reply

