My Transformation – Day 9

I managed to remember to weigh myself this morning. So straight after getting up (and having a wee!) I stepped on the scales and it read 12 stone 12 1/2 lbs. I knew it would be somewhere around this kind of weight as I have been just over 13 stone for awhile and so with the extra cardio I am doing daily along with the more restricted diet my weight has dropped.

I don’t want to be dropping too much weight as I still want to be building muscle at the same time of dropping the excess fat – YES it can be done at the same time before you ask. I wouldn’t want to be anything less than 12 6lbs really but we shall see how I progress through this transformation and make changes when necessary. The mirror will tell me what I need to do!

Today was just a chest session and so I trained at home in my garage. I have recently bought a set of nice dumbells for it so I should be able to do some decent training sessions in there. I will write a blog on my home gym another time. The chest session was as follows:

  • Incline Dumbell Flyes – 3 sets of 10 – 12 reps with 3 triple drop sets
  • Barbell Bench Press – 3 sets of 10 – 12 reps with 3 triple drop sets
  • Incline Dumbell Press – 3 sets of 10 – 12 reps with 3 triple drop sets

Although it was short and had few exercises the session was very tough! The triple dropsets (perform 10 reps, lower the weight and do another 10 reps, then drop the weight again and do another 10 reps) were a real killer. I got my weights about right though and was hitting failure in the required rep range which was good. The only thing I couldnt quite get was a good mind muscle connection. I have had some trouble with my left shoulder recently and i think it may be starting to affect my chest work as I am concentrating too much on where my shoulder is and holding it tight rather than on the chest muscles themselves. It will take some work but I am sure i will get there.

I just finished the session with 20 mins cardio on the spin bike I have. I then had to quickly cook a bolognase to make a couple of meals for work as well as get showered and changed. I will do my second lot of cardio at work, I will just do 20 mins incline walking on a treadmill. Another day done so on to the next!!

Leave a Reply

